Messi Misses Out Again As Ronaldo, Salah, Modric Make FIFA Best Shortlist

Messi has again miss out on an award nomination again as he was omitted in the Fifa the best award.

Former Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid Luka Modric and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah have been nominated for FIFA’s men’s player of the year award.

There is no place on the shortlist for Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi, who has featured in the top three for 11 straight years.

Messi was runner-up in the prize in 2007 and 2008 before winning the title for the first of five years in 2009.

Portugal and Juventus forward Ronaldo, like Messi, is a five-time winner, and has reached the top three alongside Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Modric and Salah, the Egypt and Liverpool forward.

Messi’s subsequent wins came in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, while Ronaldo won the title in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017.

The award was first introduced as the FIFA world player of the year prize (1991-2009), before becoming the Ballon d’Or (2010-15) and subsequently part of FIFA’s ‘The Best’ awards.

Ronaldo won a third successive Champions League title with Real Madrid in 2017-18, finishing as top scorer in the competition and had Modric as a team-mate.

Image result for Ronaldo won a third successive Champions League title with Real Madrid in 2017-18

Modric helped Croatia to the World Cup final, which France won, while Salah’s goals propelled Liverpool to the Champions League final, which Real won.

Image result for Modric golden ball

Norway and Lyon’s Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany and Lyon, and Marta, of Brazil and Orlando Pride, have been shortlisted for the women’s prize. Marta has won it on five occasions.

The men’s coach prize features former Real boss Zinedine Zidane, France’s World Cup-winning boss Didier Deschamps and beaten finalist Zlatko Dalic, of Croatia. Pep Guardiola of Manchester City was not shortlisted.

Image result for France’s World Cup-winning boss Didier Deschamps

Holland’s Sarina Wigman, Lyon’s Reynald Pedros and Asako Takakura of Japan are in contention for the women’s coach prize.

The best goalkeeper prize is to be contested by Tottenham and France’s Hugo Lloris, Denmark and Leicester’s Kasper Schmeichel and Belgium and Real goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, formerly of Chelsea.

Image result for France’s World Cup-winning Hugo Lloris

The 10 nominees for the Puskas Award of best goal features overhead kicks from Wales captain Gareth Bale and Ronaldo – for Real against Liverpool and Juventus, respectively – and Salah in the Merseyside derby.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu